To All The Staff at Verulam House,

Thanks for your card of sad loss of my Dear sister Margaret.

Her stay with you wasn’t very long but I knew she was well looked after and the kindness shown by eveyone is much appreciated by her family.

Wishing you all Good health

Mary

(Sister of Resident)

November 2020

Special thanks to the Team at Verulam House for looking after Florence, our Mum.

A special thank you to Debbie for insisting Mum came back to Verulam to be with people she knew. A special thank you to Phoebe and Erica for nails and hair, Mum really appreciated this and enjoyed your company. Leslie too, Mum was very fond of you. Thank you Sherrey for being an efficient “clean and dirty washing” bag lady.

Many thanks to you all at Verulam House for looking after Mum so well.

Best wishes to you all

Rita & Gloria

(Daughters of Resident)

September 2020

To Pam and all the team.

Thank you all for your kindness, compassion and common sense in making the last weeks of Marti’s life the most comfortable and comforting time.

He will be missed by many, many friends.

Much love & thanks

Anita

(Friend of Resident)

September 2020

To Debbie and all the staff

I wanted to say thank you for all the care and support that you gave to Graham over the past years.

I shall miss coming into my “second home” and seeing you all.

With much love

From Angela

(Wide of Resident)

August 2020

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Debbie & all the wonderful staff at Verulam House,

I just wanted to send a note to thank you for looking after my mother, Christine for nearly 8 years.

The care was always excellent and you took a huge amount of worry from our shoulder when mum moved from hospital in 2012. That year , in fact immediately, she rallied, which was as a result of the care and extra stimulation of being in Verulam House and well looked after.

In fact for many years she defied previous expectations following the stroke, with her fitness & general perkiness !

You also took great care of my father, who became a regular visitor ( and associate resident) with his daily visits to see mum & have lunch.

So, after 8 years we will miss our visits to the home. The garden parties and the most friendly staff from reception, the office, kitchen , nurses & care assistants, garden & caretakers i.e everyone.

Thank you for looking after my parents.

I hope you are all safe in these difficult times , you are in the front line and keeping our families safe. I send you all my respect for the work that you do .

Love from Michael

(Residents son)

 

May 2020

Dear Verulam House,

Thank you for looking after my Granddad,

Thank you for everything you are doing.

Summer

(Granddaughter  of Resident)

May 2020

To all Staff and Residents.

Thank you for making such a nice home for Liz.

Wishing you well warmly.

Kevin

(Residents Husband)

April 2020

To All the Staff of Verulam House.

Many thanks for looking after Laurie so well. Our old neighbours gave him  warm welcome home to the village of Ridge.

He lies in the company of his old World War 2 boss , Lord Alec of Tunis.

Ann

(Wife of Ann)

 

April 2020

Dear Debbie

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you, and all the staff at Verulum House Care Home for the excellent care and attention you gave to my mum, during the last few days she was alive. The compassion and care that you showed towards her was self evident to me and I know will have made her time at Verulum as comfortable as possible.
I would particularly like to thank you for allowing my sister and I access to my mum during her final days. I know that my sister and I were so grateful for being able to be with mum as she passed away. We were both very grateful that mum had as peaceful a death as possible and we both took great comfort in that this was all due to the fantastic help and support that you and your staff gave mum during those last few days.
Thank you once again for everything you did for mum during the last year. I am in total awe of the amazing and brave work that you continue to do under the current circumstances.
Stay safe and well.
Kind Regards,
Nigel

(Son of Resident)

 

April 2020

I wish everybody at Verulam House a HAPPY EASTER.

It is with much gratitude and great fondness that I often think of you all no one singled out, no one forgotten.
It may sound strange but I am thankful that Bob died when he did.
Of course I miss him every day, that is I miss him the way he was right up to the middle of last year. After that his physical health deteriorated and he found it difficult to accept the limitations forced upon him. When he had to go into hospital a couple of times his mental resilience faltered. Both of us knew that if that happened to either of us that was what we feared most.
I can hardly believe that Bob was with you for just three weeks. You could not restore his physical health that was no longer possible. He was grateful for all the assistance he received but could not accept his physical incapacity. However, your kindness, support, encouragement, humour and cheerfulness almost brought back his mental health.
I knew this was fragile and not likely to last as he worried about the effect his illness had on me, it was a burden he did not wish to inflict on me. Just imagine how he would have felt had he lived longer and experienced these unusual circumstances.
That is why I am happy to have lost Bob when I did.
The present unusual circumstances must put an extra strain and added workload on everybody but I know from experience that you will all rise to the challenge and that all who live in Verulam House are in good hands. Although I am no longer a visitor
I really thank you for all your hard work hoping you can have a HAPPY EASTER.

Joy

(Wife of Resident)

April 2020

To Debbie,

May I thank you and all your staff for taking such great care of Laurie. He has enjoyed your company for 4 years.

It will seem so strange not to be coming in and seeing your all.

Ann Price

( Residents wife)

March 2020

To All  the Staff at Verulam House

With much appreciation for everything you did for Dad.

‘Thanks so much’

Love & best wishes

Linda, Anne & all Norman’s family

(Residents Daughter & Family) 

 

March 2020

To All the wonderful, caring staff at Verulam House Nursing Home.

Thank you for the amazing way you cared for our Husband , Father, Grandfather, Great -grandfather and Brother.

We, the family are truly grateful for the special care he received in the last few days of his life, for the peaceful atmosphere in your home and from the way you also looked after us, the family.

May you all continue doing this great work and being the special people that you are.

With much love and gratitude.

Mrs Roper & Family.

(Wife & Family of Resident)

March 2020

 

To all the Staff at Verulam

Dear Debbie & Pam.

This is a note to say a huge thank you to you & your lovely team of professional staff who looked after my mum so amazingly in her final few days.

Verulam was a true sanctuary for my mum, myself & my family in our visits. When she passed away on December 15th 2019 it was in a room with a beautiful view of the garden, which we described to her & the peace of her surroundings.

Your staff cared for her in all ways, but in addition provided compassion, guidance & hugs whenever needed. Both night & day we felt welcome and cared for. Such kindness is immeasurable.

May god bless you in all your work at Verulam

Penny

(Daughter of Resident)

March 2020

Dear Pam,

‘Hope you know just how much I appreciate all you’ve done’

In remembrance and thanksgiving for the life of my beloved Mother who left us on 2nd February last year, I wanted to express to you and all the Nursing and Caring staff who  helped her through her final months, my sincere thanks. 

The patience, tolerance, kindness, understanding and professionalism shown was exemplary. Furthermore the compassion shown to me and my family as we struggled through a most difficult time in our lives, was deeply appreciated and will never be forgotten. I cannot convey with words the comfort it brought me to know Mum was being so well cared for. Thank You

Forever Grateful

Anne-Louise, Juliette, Sarah, Joseph & Elizabeth

(Family of the late Mary Anne Collins (Nan) RIP 2.2.19 )

February 2020

To Gitana & your team

Thank you so much for looking after my dad so wonderfully for the last two weeks of his life. Verulam House is a fantastic place and my gratitude to everyone . Thank you too Kerry, Sherrey, Debbie, Lesley, Debbie, James & Gitana – you all do such a challenging job so well

Paul

As well as looking after Jos so well, I appreciated how much you cared for me too.

Susan

( Son & Wife of Resident)

January 2020

To all the staff at Verulam House,

I wanted to say thank you so much for making my Mothers last few days so comfortable. The care and support we all received from Verulam House was truly amazing. It was really peaceful being with mum in her room and looking out on to your lovely garden, even in December , there was lots to see.

I would particularly like to thank Gitana & Onan who were so supportive to me and were able to listen to my concerns and explain what I needed to know, I really appreciated their calmness.

Mum left us sooner than we had expected but Verulam House was the very best place for her to be. Thank you again – with best wishes.

Mandy

(Daughter of Resident)

January 2020

105th Birthday Celebration

Hi Erica,

Just a note to thank you for the arrangements yesterday – it all went perfectly and I think mother just about understood what it was all about – which is the main thing! Please pass on the family’s thanks to all the staff.

Thanks again and roll on 106!

Peter

December 2019

100th Birthday Celebration

 

Hi Erica

Please thank all those concerned in preparations for Dads 100th birthday celebrations. Yes we had a great time thanks. The sparkling times and cake were very much appreciated and it was lovely to have the chef present the cake with candles burning which Dad managed to blow out successfully.

Dave

(Residents Son)

December 2019

I came to this care home in early march (aged 88) from Northwick park hospital, recovering from sepsis which left me unable to walk.

I am recovering well and with the help from Oana ( a Verulam house registered Nurse) & a frame I am now able to walk quite well and am able to consider a return to my home in a few months time.

Jean

(Resident)

 

October 2019

Dear Pam & Debbie,

We would like to say Thank You to you all at Verulam House for everything you did for Roger.

All the staff were great and I could not be more grateful that Roger was so happy & well cared for in the past year.

My gratitude goes specially to the staff who were with him on the daily bases.

So once again THANK YOU

Renta

( Residents Friend ) 

October 2019

Dear Erica,

Many thanks for arranging for us to use the Chapel on Saturday for my Dad’s 90th Birthday celebrations. There were fourteen of us in the end, so it was good to have the space, Dad clearly enjoyed himself , joining in a few games enthusiastically. Please would you pass on our thanks to Phoebe for looking after us so well with drinks.

Many Thanks

Barbara
(Residents Daughter)

 

October 2019

Dear Matron Debbie,

I was sorry to leave Verulam House on Sunday without seeing you to say ‘ Thank You’ for my stay, but I know you do not work on a Sunday. Also I did go to the kitchen to say thank you for the lovely food. Please pass this card to the Chapel where I would like to thank staff, Erica, Alison , Phoebe, Vicki for their help and please give my regards to all my dinning companions, let them know they are in my thoughts, I miss them!

It is good to be home again after being well looked after by carers.

Good wishes to you all

Margaret

(Respite Resident)

October 2019

Dear Pam

Whilst writing, may I underline me comment in my recent email. To have had four representatives from Verulam House attend the funeral service was very kind. The help and support given during the time of her stay with you was much appreciated, although I know it may have been a little difficult at times towards the end due to her rapid decline.

Finally thank you for continuing to send on any mail.

Thanks once again for all the help and support given by your carers, nursing and other staff

Husband of Resident

October 2019

Dear Erica,

Thank you so much for taking me to M & S last Tuesday, I thoroughly enjoyed looking through all the rails. The selection was far better than remembered it to be & I thought the prices were much lower.

The Coffee was gorgeous but next time it will be me entertaining.

With many thanks

Laura

(Resident)

September 2019

Dear Debbie,

Rob , Sally & I want to write to say ‘Thank You’ for all your love and care of Tim since April. Particularly we want to pay special thanks for the care and knowledge that you gave Tim in the last few days of his life. That he died so quietly slipping away is a source of comfort and relief to us all and we are glad that he is now free of pain.

We are grateful to all the Nursing Staff, Carers , Cooks, Simon &  other unseen & unknown to us. It is invidious to name names but you Debbie, Saly, Nicola , Laura, Barbara, Gitana have give generously of your skills and knowledge to help Tim in his last days.

Also , I would like to thank Pam, Erica, Kerri, Carole & James for their friendship , warmth and welcome. lastly but not lease I got to know some of the residents & was able to say good bye to them.

Tim had the life & death in the atmosphere and surroundings in Verulam House which we wished for him so our memories are good.

With sincere good wishes to you all.

Family of Resident

September 2019

Comments taken from Feedback Questionaire
I would recommend Verulam House to others as a result of the professionalism, care & kindness of all the staff.

H H (Wife of a memorable Husband)

September 2019

Dear All,

I normally send a postcard to my dear mum Eileen Fox. Have had many peaceful thoughts on holiday reflecting on her happy times at Verulam and your kindess is always in my heart. God bless you all.

Best Wishes,

(Son of Resident)

August 2019

Dear Erica and All the The Activity Team,

Thank you very much for giving Tom a very special outing on the Canal.

He really enjoyed it and was talking about it for some days afterwards especially as he knew some of the route you took.

Thank you also for all the many and varied things you do with Tom and the other Residents. A Canal outing takes a lot of planning and work.

With my Sincere Wishes,

Sally

August 2019

I am writing to thank everyone at Verulam House who have looked after my mum Doreen so well. When visiting I have always been impressed with the welcoming and friendly atmosphere and feel that you have all created somewhere very special.

Thank you,

Tim

(Residents Relative)

April 2019

Hi to all of the staff at Verulam house.

Just a quick message to thank you all for the care and compassion you all showed to Martin me and the whole family  during such a hard time.

It was so nice to see him so well cared for.

Thank you all so much.

He was in love with the “Tina the cleaner” bless him.

Again thank you all so much.

Bob

P.s i’ll miss the coffee machine.

 

(Residents Brother)

February 2019

To all at Verulam House

I would like to take this opportuntiy to thank all at Verulam House for the exceptional level of care given to my Husband.

Nothing was ever too much trouble and it was a great solace to me knowing that his comfort and dignity were so caringly respected during his final weeks.

I would also like to commend the understanding shown by the staff towards myself and my sister when we visited for their many kindnesses and for making sure we were ‘alright’ and those many cups of tea were always very welcome.

All of these things made what was a very sad and stressful time for us more bearable.

The caring and committed ethos at Verulam House was acknowledged in the Eulogy at his Cremation.

Once again THANK YOU and all good wishes to you all.

(Daughter of a resident) 

JULY 2018

Dear Debbie (Matron)

I wanted to express my sincere thank to both you and all of the staff in the nursing home, who have looked after my mother and made her remaining years so enjoyable.

Whenever I came to the home to see my mother, she was always in high spirits, and it wasn’t only attributable to the sherry! She often referred to the food as being particularly nice, and she clearly valued the companionship, which you all provided to her. Her clothes were always laundered punctually, and her hair was always well tendered by Sue Love.

In summary, I considered that my mother was always in the best of care, especially in her final weeks, your staff and their care were simply exemplary

Kind Regards

(Son of Resident)

September 2018

“Dear All,

We would like to say Thank you to everyone for all your efforts in celebrating my fathers birthday last week and enabling us to have a small family party in the Chapel.

With Best Wishes,

Alison and Ed”

(Family of a Resident)

April 2018

Dear Erica, all the Staff and Residents of Verulam house, Thank you so very much for the beautiful flower arrangement! It looks lovely on my coffee table. It was always our pleasure to come in, and as Raffles (the dog) is improving on our new medical regime, we will come to see you again soon,

Much Love,

Chrissie and Raffles”

 

April 2018

Pats wishes were that the funeral should be for close members of the family, but so many of the carers and others on the staff at Verulam House have asked about the funeral that we are of course, stretching the term ‘family’ to include the many friends she made there who were so wonderfully caring and kind to her over nearly five years.

So there may be quite a crowd on the day; you have been warned!

May I take this opportunity to thank everyone at Verulam House for your wonderful support and kindness even when Pat was a less than easy resident! I and all our family are extremely grateful to you all in whatever part you took in her care.

Thank you all so much!

Tim and all our family.

(Son and family of a resident)

April 2018

“….please pass on our thanks to everyone at Verulam House for the excellent care Rosemary received. She always seemed to be happy whenever we saw her and clearly enjoyed all her outings and activities. I shall particularly remember one visit last summer when she was playing Scrabble with another resident and still creating clever high scoring words!

With Kind Regards,

Ian”

(Family member of a Resident)

April 2018

“Dear Verulam Staff,

Thanks so much for a lovely afternoon on Sunday with Eileen…

The food was fabulous, The Rock Cakes were so good! The staff are just amazing.

Thanks so much.

Nina & Jon”

(Family of a resident)

March 2018

 

“To Pam and all the nursing, care and ancillary staff, with sincere appreciation for looking after mum and us so well during the last 2 years. We are very grateful indeed and could always rest easy knowing all her needs were being met and that staff had a high regard for her.

Best Wishes,”

The Family of Kate (previous resident)

January 2018

“I want to thank ALL the staff for making my mother so welcome at Verulam House. In just 9 days they improvement in her mentally and physically is unbelievable. The care is excellent. Her great Niece and I enjoyed a very good lunch with her yesterday and conversations with her which shows her brain is waking up again. I brought her medals in and was amazing she remembered where she was stationed, her duties etc.

My cousin left as I have been doing, relieved as last she is recieving the care she deserves at this time in her life.

Thank you”

Jane (Daughter) 

 

 

 

 

November 2017

“To all staff at Verulam House,

Richard, Christopher and I, as well as the rest of the family, would like to thank you for looking after our dear Mum, Iris so well during her year at Verulam House. You made her and us so welcome and mum loved her room on the second floor. She enjoyed the outings, the scrabble afternoons and the sherry mornings as well as many other activities. Thank you all for your care, concern, support and good humour. Mum appreciated what you did for her very much, as we did too.

With all Good Wishes”

Hilary (Iris’s Daughter)

 

 

 

November 2017

“To Erica and the Activities Team,

Thank you for that wonderful party you organised for me last Sunday. You did so much, the many on/off phone calls, the setting up and decorating of the chapel, the beautifying of my wheelchair etc. etc. etc. I’m so very grateful.

Love and best wishes,”

Marion (Resident) 

November 2017

“A big Thank you to all the carers, Nurses, James and everyone who works so hard at Verulam House. You all helped to make my stay with you enjoyable. There is a real family atmosphere in the house where everyone helps each other. I really did appreciate all you did for me.

Thank you again, Love Sylvia. ”

Respite Stay Resident

 

September 2017

 

“To all the staff at Verulam House

Thank you so much for your care of Rosemary over the past few days and of course the whole time she has been with you. All I wanted was for her to be happy in her declining years and she was. Ian and I thank you all on behalf of our family.

With Best wishes”

Sue and Ian (Niece and Nephew)

 

September 2017

“To all the staff of Verulam House,

Although Alan’s time with you was very brief, we as a family would like to express our appreciation and gratitude for all the care and compassion shown to him and us as a family in what turned out to be his final days.

We as a family can not thank you enough for making us feel welcome and caring and nursing Alan and attending to all his needs.”

Mick & Wendy, Steven & Marion and Colin Roberts

(Alan’s Sons and Family)

August 2017

“To all of the Staff at Verulam House,

Thank you for caring for our father until the very end of his life. We will miss our long connection with you all and wish you the very best in the future.

Love Helen Davidson, Lib Luke,Sara Thompson and all the dogs!”

(Jeremy’s Daughters and Family)

August 2017

“To all the staff at Verulam House,

Thank you all so very much for all that you did for our father, Jeremy over the years of his life and particularly for your great kindness and care during the last months.

As we all know he had strong views and opinions which were managed with good humour so that he could enjoy the relationships that were developed over the years.

Thank you too for the understanding and support for the family and particularly for your sympathy and kindness that last day.

We were all very touched to see so many of you at the funeral. I’am only sorry that I didn’t have a good opportunity to talk to you very much there.

With very very many thanks to all of you for all the difference you made and all good wishes.”

Libby

(Jeremys Daughter)

 

August 2017

Letter to Dr Damian Tominey (Owner)

“Dear Dr Damian Tominey,

I’am sure you already know, but I want to tell you how marvellous all the staff are at Verulam House. I’am so grateful for the 5 1/2 years of excellent care of my partner received while he was a resident in Verulam House.

I was allowed to help with his care and these days were so precious.

I thank all the staff whereever they work for all their kindness, support and friendship. Verulam House felt like home from home at a time when it was needed.”

Yours sincerely,

Veronica Allwood (Partner)

 

August 2017

” To Debbie and Staff,

Thank you all for looking after Mum (Ella) in the most wonderful way possible. Everyone did their best for her in the very short time she was with you.  Her end of life care was truly exemplary and we thank you all so much.

With kindest regards”

Susan and Michael (family)

August 2017

“Thank you for helping me get better.”

Sheila

(Respite Resident)

July 2017

Letter to Debbie (Matron) and all staff at Verulam House

“Debbie & Staff,

I have sincerely enjoyed the time that I have spent with you during my placement. As a result of your experience and guidance I have a much deeper understanding of the nursing career. Once again, thank you for your commitment and assistance. My gratitude of your contribution to my future success is immeasurable.”

Love

Delisani (Student Nurse)

July 2017

“To all at Verulam House,

With my grateful thanks for the professional skill and personal care you demonstrated in looking after my father Ian over the last year.”

Nick (Son)

May 2017

To all the Staff at Verulam House

Thank you for your care and kindness for Pat over 5 years.

Tim and our family.

(Family of a Resident)

 

To all the staff who have cared for Pat so patiently, Thank you so much.

IT has been a great comfort to know that Patricia was in such good, kind care,

Love from Helen.

(Family of a resident)